SEW MUCH sneakiness!

Once again…I have been sewing on the sly. Its been a busy busy season and with craft shows and hiding presents that I was making for and from the very person I LIVE with, I had no way of actually documenting the entire process of everything I made without being found out. With due apologies I present to you, my latest creations…

In a hurry to make things for an upcoming craft show, I tried smaller, faster pieces. After some trial and error, I put together 2 wallets/card holders in designs I’d want to have for myself…

From Sew What

They’re both felt, covering stiffer felt, lined with cotton broadcloth and have magnetic snap closures.

I found a gem of an end piece at my favourite fabric store – an end piece being just that; the end of a roll of fabric – and knew just what to do with it when I chanced upon it. So I did something only kind of similar to my original plan.

From Sew What

This mail man satchel is made from a lovely tweedy mixed wool and fully lined in a gorgeous purple satin with a flower accent and button to match. It has a boxed bottom and a pocket on the inside for cell phones, gloss and what not.

In another rush to make a few items for a craft show, I came upon this gorgeous fabric in the upholstery section and decided to grab it for a quick and easy tote.

From Sew What

I let the fabric do the work in this one and simply embroidered an outline around some of the print – like I said – I WAS IN A RUSH! I will be going back for more of this fabric and be putting it to some good use on cushion covers.

In the same rush to make a few more items for another craft show, I put together some felt flower brooches using different techniques I made up on the spot.

From Sew What

I bought an assortment of glass beads and threaded a few in the centre for a little sparkle.

In the same vein I also did a few hair bands, but used toile and satin instead…

From Sew What

Another rush job was a small zipper pouch – perfect for small change or a camera.

From Sew What

I chose to do a ‘kairi’ or paisley pattern, cut out free hand. I just really liked the way it felt and they turned out quite well.

Along with suddenly participating in craft shows, a friend placed a custom order for 3 of my original pink ballerina stockings for her daughter and nieces – my first order! I personalised them for her with each of their initials and the resultant squealing assured me it was much appreciated.

From Sew What

The flowers on this one are copies of my original prototype, however the other two stockings had different flowers – variations on the same theme though.

And last but certainly not the least, my final creation for this year – my trump card of Christmas gifts for the manly man…

From Sew What

Yes, he is a plush robot.

All my aces went down the tube at the last minute and I desperately wanted to have something big and special for the manly man, among various little gifts, as I do every year. I had a vague idea bouncing around in my head about a plush robot or some such thing, but had put it aside for a long while.
Before I go any further though, I need to acknowledge my good friend Jess for turning me on to geekcrafts.com from where I took the inspiration and basic framework for this robot.

That being said, and my guilt at being not so original partially subdued, I have to say, I tried to up the stakes and take it to the next level. The original was made of felt. I just happened to have some very sexy silver vinyl/rexine in my fabric bin and used it for the perfect metallic finish.

Here is a closer look at his face, leg and arm…

From Sew What

I wanted his head to swivel and after a quick chat with mommy dearest, chose to have his head magnetically snap on with a purse snap. So now, it comes clean off to hilarious effect!
His teeth are hand embroidered onto white felt and eyes are buttons covered in black fabric. I added a few personal touches in there that I’ll leave out of this post for fear of a mush outbreak.

He was received with slight confusion at first – he thought I bought him at one of my many craft fairs. When I mumbled “I made him” the squeals and misty eyes followed. SUPER WIN!

For the last week of this year, I have packed away the sewing machine – eating around it on the dining table just didn’t seem to yell ‘holiday cheer’ to everyone like I’d hoped.

Rest assured – the three of you that read this – it will be back in less than 48 hours from now. I have many MANY projects lined up and not nearly enough friends to give them away to.

HAPPY NEW YEAR and may whatever it is you believe in bless you and shower you with sugar and molten-but-not-boiling chocolate! HUZZAH!

For inquiries and custom orders please contact me on weewomanworks@gmail.com.

One response to “SEW MUCH sneakiness!

  1. Awsome! And you’re selling – just like that. Happy holidays indeed.

    P.S. I got Society Tea. 😛

Leave a Reply

